Posted by: Ingrid | July 12, 2012

Basic Needs

Namely food and sleep.  Heaven forbid we try to climb too high on Maslow’s pyramid and overstep the very physiological stage that is parenting babies and toddlers.

Can I just say again how much having children has taught me about how much I need sleep?

I mentioned being tired in May.  That tiredness was a little better, though not much, in June.  Turns out that I think I solved the problem.

I just needed to admit my husband was right.

I remember when we moved Isaac to his room at 6 months.  I fought it so hard because I felt bad and hated that I would have to actually get up at night and feed him.  Turned out to be the best thing ever.  We both slept so much better.  Well, Jonathan has been sleeping next to the bed in his pack n’ play and he is, what… over eight months old?  Right.  And he was waking up just about every two hours.  To eat.  Yes, Super-Chub himself felt he needed to nosh all night at mom’s expense.  But all our rooms are so close together and with Isaac newly transferred into his “big boy” bed as of a week ago

and being a sometimes-light-sleeper to boot, and my fear that I would have to run to Jonathan’s side every two hours to feed him… it all seemed like way too much.

But we took the plunge and Jonathan was banished to the living room where he has been sleeping all night.  All night.  I have gotten 6-8 hour chunks of sleep four consecutive nights in a row for the first time in months.  So the moral of the story is banish your baby and listen to your husband.  Clint is being very noble and not doing the whole “I told you so” bit.

Then there is the food thing.  I am hoping that one of these times we will manage to produce a normal eater.  I don’t understand, with parents like the two of us, how our children can dislike food so much.  We have tried Jonathan on cereal, applesauce, avocado, and peas.  After several weeks of this I still have hold his hands down (otherwise he knocks the spoon away), make him laugh with his mouth open (smiling with clenched teeth doesn’t count), and slip the spoon in.  Then his eyes widen, he looks freaked out and betrayed, and acts like I just tried to feed him bleach.

It’s a little like trying to time your swing on the last mini-golf hole.  The one where, if your ball makes it past the swinging gate you get a free round of golf on the house.  I was never very good at those.

And don’t even get me started on the potty training that is really not happening.  Actually, we are expecting Elmo to potty train Isaac.  So far all that has happened is that I now have creepily cheerful Sesame Street potty songs stuck in my head.

Gotta’ love life in the parenting trenches.

I can tell you I am loving it more now that I am sleeping longer than two to three hours at a stretch!

Responses

  1. I know you didn’t ask for any advice, so if you are not in the advice receiving mode, please kindly delete this comment, but…
    Tobias hated being fed (still does). I bought Baby Mum Mums (rice crackers), and he loved the independence of getting to eat by himself. Essentially, he ate nothing but Mum Mums (still nursing, of course) until he was old enough to eat non-mashed foods.

  2. I don’t have the patience for feeding a baby! Isn’t it frustrating!!!!? A couple foods my last two kids loved and (could do by themselves) was a whole apple (peel the outer layer off-they loved to gnaw on it), a slice of frozen ezekiel bread, and corn on the cob… that’s if they have teeth! 🙂 I definitely second what slowlane said about letting them eat for themselves-your description of Jonathan sounds a lot like how Quinn was this last go-round. She was defiant of me feeding her most of the time…one day I left the table with disgust, came back a minute later and found Ryanne feeding her with NO HASSLES AT ALL! cute Quinn, real cute. :/

    and potty-training…that’s my least favorite stage…so no advice there! 🙂 ugh!!!!!!

  3. Yeah, I don’t think I fed either of the kids more than a couple of weeks. It’s so much easier to let them do it themselves (and they love it)!


Leave a Reply

Categories

