Posted by: Ingrid | August 8, 2013

Bumpdate: 29 Weeks

Due Date: October 24.  Moving into the 70’s in terms of days to go.

Weight Gain:  Up 15.8 yesterday and 16.4 today.  Guessing that I am really more the latter than the former, unfortunately.

Symptoms: Exhaustion and feeling large.  Also, I sometimes unintentionally grunt when I bend over and forget I have a large belly.  And spatial navigation is not my forte right now – I keep underestimating the space I take up and running into walls.  I have also noticed, when I stretch my legs out in the middle of the night that I am dangerously close to getting those horrible pregnancy leg cramps that make you want to die.

What’s different this time:  I’m so so SO done.  And I’m not even 30 weeks yet.

Cravings/Aversions:  Craving fruit of all kinds, peaches, raspberries, and cantaloupe in particular.  Also, while in Mackinac City, I opted for more fried fish over ice cream which just seems weird when you are pregnant.  Here is the proof.

IMG_2946

Based on last evening’s activities, you would think that this was a particular craving of mine, but it’s not.  Merely a necessity brought on by too many cucumbers in the garden.  Can I just say that I am thankful I don’t HAVE to do stuff like this?  Canning may not be rocket science, but my word, it is tedious.

IMG_3060

I feel like my aversions vary by the day and by the hour.  I may be able to eat something for lunch that will sound disgusting by dinner time.

Sleep: Fabulous sleep for 2 nights on our weekend getaway.  Not so great sleep after coming home since 3/4 of us can’t figure out how to sleep through the night.  And since Jonathan is now climbing out of the crib like a monkey and then appearing with a big smile on his face to say: “I’m OUT!” that might bring the entire family to a hot sleepless mess.

I am loving:  Getting away for the weekend was AMAZING.  Beyond amazing!

I miss:  Being able to have a comfortable 7 mile run in under an hour.  The running is taking way too long these days.

Are you nesting?  It took a while to get stuff unpacked from the weekend.  Sometimes I think about nesting though, if that counts…

Milestones:  The medical practice that I am about to leave considers 29 weeks the beginning of the third trimester (Crazy!  No third time mom will agree to such ridiculous terms!).

Best moment this week:  We bought a minivan!  And for those nasty winter months I can start it and let it warm up from inside the house!

I am stressing over:  Birthday party for a four year old this weekend.  Not like parties are a huge deal, but when you have small children even doing a little cooking/cleaning/baking/decorating beyond the norm feels like a stressful and major undertaking.  Nothing stays put and everyone undoes what I do!

Movement:  I should name him/her Thumper.

It’s a:  Still going with the boy guess.

Exercise:  Ran 30 miles over 4 days last week (11 mile long run) problem and pain free.  Did weights once, cross trained twice, and rode about 20 miles around Mackinac Island on Saturday.

Diet: Trying to clean it up a little.  The weekend was atrocious!  Too much fried food, fudge, and meals at weird times.  I will do better after we finish up the fudge…

Exercise goal for the upcoming week:  Hopefully I will end this week at 32 miles, plus a few days of cross training, and two days of weights.  So far, with a 6 and 5 miler and then my 9 mile long run today, things are on course for the week.  The weather is looking good for the half marathon that I may do in 10 days!

Belly Shot: 

IMG_3078

Leave a Reply

Categories

