Posted by: Ingrid | June 26, 2014

I know he loves me

Even after 7.5 years of marriage, when you feel like you know so much about your spouse, it is delightful to feel loved in a way that speaks to your heart.

Yesterday Husband got home and the following conversation ensued:

Husband:  So I decided that you and Liliana shouldn’t drive out to Colorado with the minivan and moving truck.  So I booked you a flight.

Me:  GAH?!?  What?!?!  (In my head I picture him randomly clicking on any flight from Detroit to Denver, happily unaware of a huge price difference.  As the Handler of Finance Spread Sheet, this is an unnerving thought.)  No!!!  I will be fine.  We can drive.  You didn’t have to do that.  Seriously.  I’d feel like such a wimp.  What mom can’t deal with three screaming kids in a minivan for 17 hours of driving?  I’m a total wimp if I fly.

Husband:  No.  You aren’t a wimp.  You’re wise.

Me:  But I didn’t book the ticket so I’m not wise, I’m the victim of the equivalent to a wisdom drive-by.

Husband:  So are you okay with it?

Me:  (Shamefacedly) Yeah.  I really love the idea.  And I don’t want to know any details about the guy-trip out to Colorado.  I don’t care what you feed them, where you sleep, or the number of DVDs they watch.

Husband:  Great!  I just wanted to feel the idea out first.  No way would I make a big financial decision without checking with you first.

Me:  ARE YOU KIDDING ME???!!!

And that, ladies and gentlemen, is true love.  It also ensures that I will be somewhat sane when we arrive in Colorado. 🙂

Responses

  1. And that is the kind of guy we ladies refer to as a keeper! Big time!

  2. I love you, honey! 🙂 Thanks for encouraging me to go after teaching. But thank you mostly, for making my vocational dream, your dream as well. 🙂

    *Also, I wish there was a “like” button for the first response by “pPC” – love it! 🙂


Leave a Reply

Categories

