Posted by: Ingrid | April 6, 2015

Two weeks to go

BM

So all of a sudden Boston is in two weeks.  TWO WEEKS?!?  As in, I will be done with the Boston Marathon at this point two Mondays from today.  I am finding this hard to believe.  Of course I meant to blog all the little details but life has not been conducive to much blogging or much… anything, really.  It wasn’t even conducive to me doing both of my pre-req classes.  I am not sure where my time is going these days but it is awfully hard to do more than survive.

This will be the first full marathon training cycle that I have completed and I truly feel like I deserve a medal.  I don’t suffer from a short attention span except when it comes to marathons, apparently.  Honolulu was a partial training cycle, then there were two train-for-a-marathon-just-kidding-I’m-pregnant incidents, and finally my Estes Park marathon which was done on 7 weeks of training.  I really liked that, because at the point I was running 20 miles and realized I was going to really run a marathon it was time to taper.

I feel like I still kind of did “marathon lite” this time around (only peaked at 50 miles), but I started in January and have seen it all the way through.  This feels something like a minor miracle with the winter weather in a new town, the crazy winds, needing to study for pathophysiology, lack of babysitters, and the fact that I have been sick 3 times in the past 4 weeks.  So I am sort of glad it’s time to taper.  But don’t mention that to me next week because I may be just a little bit crazy then.

Last marathon I did one 20 miler during training and it took me 2:57.  This time I did a 21 and a 23 miler in training (first time doing a 23!) and I finished the 23 in 3:02.30.  It felt really good to see progress there.  I feel like I have at least put in good effort this time around (a good portion of my long run motivation coming from a speedy friend who is getting ready to run her first marathon in May and who was willing to join me in snow and wind, running faster than she needed to).  Last time I realized with two weeks to go that I should probably be doing some of my long runs at marathon pace.  Oddly enough, this time I have had marathon pace in all my long runs since February and I still don’t feel like my body knows the pace.  Very weird.  I think the crazy winds (and they ARE crazy here) definitely contribute because it’s hard to really get a feel for a pace when you are on all sides of a 15 mph wind.

I am grateful to be two weeks out, uninjured, not pregnant, and ready to run my third ever marathon in Boston!  Also, since all of my running in the past nine months has been done somewhere between 4000 and 7500 feet, I am ecstatic to be at sea level for the run!

On the other hand, I have no idea, still, how it is possible to run with 30,000 other people.  How is that a good idea?

It is going to be its own set of crazy trying to leave my children in their respective places while we are gone and to not worry about them (or the toll they are taking on their caretakers).  But we get five days (5. Cinco. FIVE!!!!!) with no children.  Running 26.2 miles at the end of that is a small price to pay for such luxury!

This is my first (and probably last) Boston so I am trying to remind myself to have fun. 🙂 Yay, Boston!

Responses

  1. Running with 30,000 people well, you have to picture it like getting into a stream and being pulled along with the current. Or getting on a bus. You will be surrounded by people from start to finish and you will form your own little moving village of people to whom you will become attached. Just stay calm and don’t panic and try to find the gap without people to run in bc it doesn’t exist in boston!

  2. Good luck – have a wonderful race!!


Leave a Reply

Categories

