Posted by: Ingrid | November 7, 2015

He found me

I went running sometime in the summer and, without thinking, put Kelly Clarkson’s 2004 album, Breakaway on my ipod.  And wow.  It was like I was punched in the face by 2005.  Hard.  Somehow I’d forgotten that ten years ago I had managed to associate almost every song on that particular album with my mom’s cancer and two very unfortunate crushes on two completely ineligible guys.  The only bright spot was You Found Me, which I came to associate with Clint after we met in the aisle of the 99 Cent Store (full story in lengthy detail here).  Oh, 2005, you were a crazy crazy year.

And that was a decade ago today.  Ten years.  Which seems like one of those far off milestones when you’re just starting to date someone and you don’t know where the relationship will go.  Then suddenly you’re brushing your teeth and realize that this person who has changed your life has been by your side for ten years.  I am forever grateful that he did find me, though after ten years I feel like Halestorm’s Here’s to us (the clean version, I might add – I just found that the original needs… well, at least a cautionary note) is more apropos of a ten year relationship.  It’s been a good decade!

10 years

 

Leave a Reply

Categories

