Posted by: Ingrid | January 20, 2016

Bumpdate: 24 Weeks

Due Date: May 11, 2016.  Finally we get to even out the birthdays through the year!

Weight Gain: 11 pounds

Symptoms: Headaches and exhaustion.

What’s different this time: I have never been so tired or gotten so much sleep during a pregnancy.

Cravings/Aversions: I really want cucumbers and I have already eaten the ones in our fridge.  That’s a really weird craving though.

Sleep: Now that the semester is upon us I have to start getting “less” sleep.  Since I have been getting 9-10 hours a night (thanks to 1/4 of a Unisom tablet) that means more along the lines of 8 hours if I want any hope of running.  For some reason (though I have never slept this much during a pregnancy) this feels like a hardship.

I am loving: All the maternity shirts that I have borrowed this time around with ruching.  This is truly the best thing ever when you are pregnant and I am sad I didn’t find it sooner.

I am grateful for: I got up early and ran for the first time in months and got an exquisite flaming pink and red sunrise as payoff.  Even with the additional cold, dark, and tiredness, it was worth it.

I miss: Bending over to pick things out without going “oof”.

Milestones: 3/5 of the way there and on a week divisible by 4.  This was also the first day I took my picture and my six year old proclaimed, “Mom, the baby makes you look like you’re a little fat.” Nice and encouraging, that one.

Best moment this week: Yesterday it was 45 degrees, sunny, and not windy when I made the school pick up rounds.  It at least gave the illusion that winter will not last forever.

I am stressing over: How difficult it has been to get decent running in.  Above all, I hate feeling trapped, and that is exactly how I feel when weather/sleeping/schedules/children coincide and I feel like I can’t do anything I enjoy.

Movement: Lots and lots.  It’s always odd to get to the stage where I wake up and roll over at night and the baby wakes up too.

It’s a: Boy.

Exercise: Got in 23 miles last week and was pretty disappointed.  Cross trained and did weights and abs too.

Diet: I feel like this had been good.  I even had a breakfast salad the other day (with eggs).  I had 3/4 of a day of attempting to eat a combination of Whole 30 and Maffetone-ish diet and was reminded that I feel sick whenever I cut my carbs down to just sweet potatoes and fruit.  So that was fun.  My bi-monthly lesson that my body prefers moderation to “cool” athletic eating plans.

Exercise goal for the upcoming week:  Get somewhere between 25-28 miles in.  Seeing that it is Wednesday and I am at 7 miles, that will take some doing.  2 days of weights and 2 days of abs and cross training on the off days.

Belly Shot: 

IMG_3935

Leave a Reply

Categories

