Posted by: Ingrid | February 17, 2016

Bumpdate: 28 Weeks

Due Date: May 10, 2016, though I keep forgetting and saying it is the 11th or 12th.  Not that what I say matters in terms of baby’s arrival. ;-P

Weight Gain: 17 pounds on a good day.  As usual, my tolerance for what I would like to have gained lags about 2 pounds below reality.

Symptoms: Braxton hicks contractions on and off.  Extreme irritability when faced with mess, people, and things not going as planned.

What’s different this time: This is my first (and only) pregnancy at “elevation” (if you can call roughly 4,000 feet elevation).  This is also the first time I have had to wear winter running gear (and my winter coat, for that matter) at a late stage in pregnancy.  Everything is getting iffy, so hopefully the temperatures warm up just a bit very soon.  I feel like I have far fewer clothes that fit this time around.  If I wear 10 shirts for 9 days each and don’t wash the two pairs of pants that fit me, I should be okay.

Cravings/Aversions: Hummus and cucumbers and oranges.  I also feel like I have been making a lot of things with coconut milk.

Sleep: Decent, though I wake up often.  Fortunately I have been able to fall back asleep.

I am loving: The sunshine and the fact that the boys are back in school after an incredibly long 4 day weekend.

I am grateful for: Moments of quiet and sunshine.

I miss: Breathing through my nose when I sleep.  Having been congested since November I cannot breathe through my nose at night which dries out my mouth and is just gross.  On a deeper level, I miss my mom.  There is always a resurgence of loss during pregnancy knowing that she missed the entire span of having grand kids and knowing that she’s not around to do fun things with the kids and help out.

Milestones: All sources now consider me in the third trimester, also 7/10 of the way done.

Best moment this week: Seeing the kids’ faces on Valentine’s Day.

I am stressing over: Taking yet another nursing entrance exam next week.  I have no desire to study and it’s one of those nebulous exams where one section asks 20 questions over the entirety of Anatomy and Physiology (8 college credits) so it almost seems pointless to study.  I just want it out of the way and if I do horribly, I am hoping my 4.0 GPA pulls me through.

Movement: Lots of moving, often when I am reading to another child who is on my lap and pressing against my belly.

It’s a: Boy.  I feel like we are in a baby boy wave right now.

Exercise: I hit 30 miles last week, finally, and was very happy about that.  Cross trained on the other days and have completely given up weights and abs.

Diet: Varies.  There are good days and bad days.

Exercise goal for the upcoming week: I am hoping to get my mileage into the low 30’s and cross train when I can’t get out to run.

Belly Shot: 

IMG_4129

Leave a Reply

Categories

