Posted by: Ingrid | April 20, 2016

Bumpdate: 37 Weeks

Due Date: May 11, 2106.  21 days, and still less than a month to go even factoring in my history of being late.  Here’s what I can’t believe.  37 weeks ago I actually wanted to be pregnant.  I wish past me and present me could have had a conversation.

Weight Gain: I am up a full 25 pounds. Down a bit from a few weeks ago thanks to lots of hard work.  Maybe also due to throwing up the past three days.  Still higher than the majority of most of my pregnancies.

Symptoms: Tiredness, feeling anxious to be done with this pregnancy, ligament pain on the right side, back pain, vomiting.

What’s different this time: I have never had so many nesting projects.  I have also never had painting projects while pregnant and so far I have had four!

Cravings/Aversions: I feel like everything that sounds good ends up tasting bad.

Sleep: Tired of getting up 7 times a night to shuffle to the bathroom.  Plus every time I get up my husband asks: “Are you okay?” which for some reason totally irks me in the middle of the night, since I hate feeling like I’m waking him up.

I am loving: I finished painting the changing table and washed the newborn clothes.  I forgot that baby socks stick to everything.  I think I lost half of them in one load of wash.

I am grateful for: The fact that I will have a husband home all summer to deal with this crazy transition to four kids (four kids?!?).  I just realized last night that I am used to putting the kids to bed and having them stay there.  Time to buckle up for that weird new baby schedule.  Ack.

I miss: Normal tastebuds.  I miss cooking something and having it taste good.  I miss things sounding good.  I miss eating something that sounds good and not immediately gaining 10 pounds from eating it and then throwing up.

Milestones: I guess I am term?  Not full term, which is 39 weeks now, but term, at least, is a step in the right direction.  Down to only 3 more doctor’s appointments and hopefully only 3 more times I have to squeeze into these jeans for a bumpdate picture.

Best moment this week: Had a fun hour long ultrasound on Friday morning.  I had a great tech and intern and it was fun to see the baby at this point.  Anatomy nerd that I am, it was cool to see the foramen ovale at work before the baby is born and it is never used again.

I am stressing over: My children.  Isaac is suddenly being sneakily obnoxious to his siblings and getting up way too early.  Jonathan cries over everything for no reason and I want to smack him.  Lily has begun acting very “two” and throws tantrums now in weird places.  All of it annoys me to no end.  Quick!  Let’s add a newborn who is attached to me every two hours!

Movement: Yes.  There is far too much stretching in the wrong direction going on in there.

It’s a: Boy.

Exercise: I only ran 11 miles last week and did lots of cross training and weights three times.  Every time I’d run I’d have to take at least a day off because of the pain.  Super frustrating.

Diet: Fine.

Exercise goal for the upcoming week: I have no idea.  I have no control over my running and leg pain, so it seems silly to try to aim for particular mileage. So I guess exercise daily is the only thing I can really commit to but I do that anyway.  Lame.

Belly Shot: I am so done with this shirt and these jeans.  I have had these jeans since I was pregnant with Isaac (and loaned them out once too).  Maybe I will burn them at the end of this pregnancy as a nod to the end of an era.

IMG_4442

Responses

  1. Hugs, momma. You’re doing a beautiful, graceful job.

    • Thanks! Homestretch time now and I will make it. I think I can…

      • You certainly can! This is where it starts to get really exciting!!!

  2. You’re so funny Ingrid. I love how real you are in your blog posts like “i want to smack him”…so many of us feel that way and you just put it out there. 🙂 So happy for you guys!!!

    • Thanks, Penny! It’s mostly when he starts screaming (yes, literally screaming) in public because of something like losing a privilege based on one of his choices. Oh my word. :-p

  3. Hang in there sweetheart. I love you and if you smack him, give him a hug afterwards!

    • He is an adorable child, but when he starts screaming in public because he makes a choice and loses something… boy oh boy.


Leave a Reply

Categories

