Posted by: Ingrid | December 16, 2016

First semester acknowledgements and thanks

Last week, on the final night of clinicals when I was pulling something marvelous together for dinner (probably peanut butter sandwiches or cold pizza), Isaac wandered by, glanced at me speculatively, and asked, So, how many more weeks until mom is a doctor? With a horrified look on his face, my husband assured our child that I was never going to be a doctor because did he have any idea how many years that would take?

That said, I now have one semester of nursing school under my gait belt. Enough time to be properly euphoric that I finished well and properly terrified at the prospect of three more semesters and the NCLEX. Seriously, if you know a nurse, congratulate her on finishing school. If you are a nurse, pat yourself on the back and pour yourself a glass of wine. Who knew this was so difficult?

At the semester’s end, I am overwhelmed with gratitude towards the various people who have made this possible. Not only does it take a village to raise a child, it also takes one to send an adult back to school.

To my husband: Who, even at the end of a round of clinicals could still look at me and say, This is worth it. Who is willing to support my dreams even though we are all slightly more insane because of it. Who took 3/4 kids to work almost every weekend so that I could study and dropped 3 kids off at 3 different locations and picked them up almost every school day. Who dealt with me crying, complaining, threatening to quit school, verbally processing catheters and wounds, and going to bed at 8:30 pm – thanks for keeping me moving forward.

To my dad: He graciously stayed an additional few months to help out during the first semester and I am so thankful that he did. Never underestimate the power of a third adult. It was always so sweet to come home to find Grandpa and Wesley hanging out. I have tried without success to think of a way to get him on the “no fly” list without getting him sent to jail just to keep him here for the next semester (or three).

My kids: Who watched in bewilderment as I cried on a weekly basis, lost my temper and apologized more frequently, and forgot to fix dinner often. I feel like I have hardly been around for the last few months. For all that I haven’t had time to make cold lunches for school, do fun things, or even go to the library (couldn’t handle having to keep track of extra books), they still hug me at the end of the day and seem to be okay.

To my friend, Jen, who called me at least an average of 2 times a week all semester long. She even called me and left messages when she knew I wouldn’t pick up, and that’s dedication. Nursing school is isolating, so that really meant a lot. Thanks, friend!

Anyone who made any sort of encouraging remark about not quitting school during the last 16 weeks on Facebook, especially my Aunt J and my FG.

For the scholarship I was granted and subsidized childcare, without which school would be financially impossible, thank you.

To my running shoes, which have put in 409 miles since school started despite a fully messed up schedule and a new baby. You are better than any benzodiazepine or antidepressant without the nasty side effects.

I have never been so excited for Christmas break!

 

 

 

 

Responses

  1. You are doing great, love you all.


Leave a Reply

Categories

