Posted by: Ingrid | December 19, 2016

Belated Seven Months: The lost month

Dear Wesley,

img_1051

Do I really remember what you were doing and what amazing developmental milestones you were hitting from November 3rd through December 3rd? Not really. Because clinicals. And finals. And not enough sleep. At the end of the semester everyone was talking about getting more sleep and I’m like, only if someone wants to adopt a cute baby who doesn’t believe in sleeping longer than 3 hours at a time. Right around the beginning of clinical rotations your sleep went south and it has been painful. You wake up every 2 to 3 hours and sometimes stay awake for a few hours. I’m surprised I didn’t fall asleep in class. Or on the road. Or while I was trying to feed a patient.

img_1010

Aside from the sleep you are a delight. So curious and inquisitive. I can tell that you just want to do all the things. You want to move and sit and crawl. Not that you have figured anything out beyond rolling incessantly, pivoting in circles, and wedging yourself under furniture.

img_1364

That has to be one of my favorite (fleeting) stages of baby-hood, when the baby wants to go forward and can’t figure out why they keep scooting backwards. You roll so fast now that we never leave you unattended unless we need to get the camera to take pictures of you falling off the bed (#fourthkid?).

img_1149

You can sit if you are placed on the floor, but you haven’t figured out how to get there on your own.

img_1431

You are a little mover though!  It’s not pretty, but it’s definitely effective. I should dress you in a Swiffer onesie and let you clean the floor while you roll. You can get up on all fours when you are mad, but that’s about it so far.

img_1270

You love your bouncer, you love spoons thrown on the floor, you love playing peek-a-boo, and you LOVE your siblings.

img_1319

You also love Grandpa. Sometimes he creeps up the stairs making noises and you are just beside yourself, looking around and trying to figure out where he is.

img_1426

We haven’t started you on solids yet because I couldn’t even think for those last few weeks of the semester, let alone start something new. It was hard enough to feed the people who could actually eat. Fortunately you are happy nursing and I was happy to be able to read over my powerpoints for Pharmacology and Fundamentals. And two novels, I won’t lie. So no food yet, but you now sit at the table with us and fling things off your tray. The gravity game never gets old. The game of “grab the cat” is also amping up. Poseidon hates you from afar whenever possible.

img_1264

When you do sleep, you almost immediately flip onto your tummy with your bottom in the air. Sometimes you flip while I’m laying you down, which may or may not mean that one time you got dropped because you caught me off guard when you flipped out of my hands.

img_1022

At the end of Thanksgiving I made an aside comment while driving the kids around. Probably related to your inability to sleep and along the lines of “I’m going to send you back where you came from.” Your sister piped up from the back and asked, “Back to Miss Joycie’s house, mom?” (your daycare provider – since apparently that’s where you came from?). But no, despite the lack of sleep you have won me over with your agreeable joviality and the fact that you are just so deliciously cute.

img_1280

Love,

Mom

Responses

  1. You are doing such a great job, Ingrid. I wish I had your energy. I know it doesn’t always feel like it, but it is all worth it and it will be worth it and your kids will be no worse for wear. I love you all. Merry Christmas. Give the kiddos a hug from Grandma Jody.


Leave a Reply

Categories

